A Strange Week

Last Tuesday, I was sitting in Starbucks, sipping my latte. Procrastinating getting on the train for my two hour commute.

I look at my phone, see updates of my friends who graduated from my undergrad university. Including Prince Player, who finished up his Master’s there! I congratulate everyone, and I had congratulated Prince Player already briefly, but decide to comment on him no longer being a barista. He is moving on to a different career.

The reason I was able to survive grad school was because of coffee. I had a Starbucks/Dunkin Donuts EVERY DAY. We would bond over this. He responds “How are you?”

Oh. He wants to talk to me! We haven’t talked in months so I’m amused.

I tell him I’m good. That I’m working now. And how amazing it is that he is officially a Master’s graduate. He tells me I will be one soon too.

And that is where the conversation ends.

And it’s strange. Because. The date we talked, marks exactly one year since the day we19149146_1091380177664484_2336509902058088221_n said goodbye.

Perhaps that’s why we finally talked.

I rub my eyes, careful not to mess up my eyeliner and mascara and get back to work when I hear someone call my name.

That day at work we have an emergency preparedness meeting. I presented on my Suicide and Addiction Prevention plan. My boss points out someone to me and tells me to go network with him. I find this person, and share more about my project. I show him the pamphlets and fact sheet I made. He takes a look at my pamphlet.

“Hm. You should change this” he says pointing to a sentence.

“Why?” I ask.

“Because I am a two time suicide survivor. And that is not true” he says.

My eyes widen. “Other than that. This is awesome. Thank you for bringing light about this topic”.

I smile. He walks away.

OH MY GOD!!! When my boss told me “You have to be thick skinned in this line of work” on my first day, I didn’t realize how thick skinned I had to be. I take a deep breath and fix my errors. Individuals like the one I spoke to are the ones I am trying to help, so I have to listen.

On my way home, I decide to take a Lyft instead of a bus to the train station because it is easier from our conference location. In the Lyft, I start rubbing my eyes because of terrible summer allergies, and I accidentally press cancel on the ride!

“Shaz. Did you hit cancel?” the Lyft driver asks.

“Umm. I don’t understand what happened. I think hit something” I say.

He sighs. “I don’t think I’m going to get paid, but we’re so close I will drop you off”

I thank him many times and call Lyft. I explain what happened and ask them to take money from my account and pay him. They thank me for being a good customer and agree they will.

Meh.

When I finally reach home, I go to CVS to buy chocolate. I see Hershey’s Coconut Kisses are on sale. I grab those.

I walk up to the counter. “Ahh my loyal customer” the cashier says. This tells you how much I go there.

When I get into my apartment and bite into the kiss, I see the receipt. It looks pretty expensive for one item. THE KISSES WERE $5! Apparently, the sale was…buy ONE get ONE 50 PERCENT OFF. Nooooo.

And that isn’t the worst of it. I see a charge…for gummy bears. I did not buy any gummy bears. I call CVS. “Hi I got charged for an item I did not buy” I say. “Okay. Please bring in a bank statement” they say.

I raise my eyebrows. No. They can take my $2.50.

Oy.

And then today. Today, I wake up early morning around 6 with excruciating knee pain. It is so horrible I can’t walk. But I know I have to be up in an hour for work. So I do everything in my power including placing heat on my knee and taking pain medications and lay down for a bit.

I contemplate calling in sick knowing my commute is two hours and I don’t know how I can walk. But the pain slowly fades with the heat. Still, I use all my energy to get up and ready. I am running late.

I have not heard from my boss in days. We have an important meeting today and I have no idea where it is.

Before I reach the train station, I call him. I ask him where the meeting is.

“Oh I’m still out of the office. So I won’t be at that meeting. So if you would like to work from home today, you can” he says.

My jaw drops. What would have happened if I took my two hour commute, arrived there, and he wasn’t there???

Well, at least I get to go back home and rest up my knee. Must have busted it while working out.

Sigh.

What a strange week.

xoxo. S.

2 thoughts on “A Strange Week

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

