Winding Down

And off we go, my last week of my first year at grad school.

Do you believe this???

This is a time I begin to feel major anxiety. The last two weeks are always the hardest. There is no way to prioritize all the papers, exams, and group projects due. Especially in grad school.

Slowly but surely I am moving along.

On Monday I published the big research project my research partner and I have been working on. Then I had two presentations. And next week I have my last final exam. Then that’s that. I’m done!

Crazy.

Wasn’t it just yesterday I left college?

When I get a break, I stare out the window.

I wonder how all my friends are. Do they miss me?

I wonder how Prince Player is. Is he happy? 

I wonder how my club is. Is there more structure now?

I wonder how my former students are. Did I give them everything they needed to succeed?

I wonder how my teachers and mentors are. Are they proud of me? Do they know what a difference they made in my life?

I wonder what would have happened if I stayed in Chicago, and then I wouldn’t have to wonder.

I shake my head.

Nothing I wanted would have happened if I stayed. Still, I think about my Chicagoans everyday.

I don’t have all the drama or gossip to share like I always do in my last week of school (“Prince Player” came to visit, I won the President position, “Heart” did not come to visit). None of that.

That drama has been replaced by hard work and accomplishments.

Things I thought would never happen!

So as my first year of grad school winds down, I am immensely proud. I don’t believe my first year was upsetting as I did at university, it was good 🙂

xoxo. S.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Winding Down

  1. Way to go! And surely the drama isn’t missed. You’ll have plenty of time for that the rest of your life. Enjoy this time. It’s stressful, I’m sure. But, life post-campus is too, x10. Don’t rush to get out here. 😃

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

