What do all my readers do?

I’m back at school and the first week of school blahs have kicked in.

Why did I move to Boston?

Why did I choose to go to grad-school?

Why did I decide to take this class?

The person that got to deal with it is my significant other.

I cried as soon as I saw him.

“Oh come on. It’s only been a few days since I last saw you” he says hugging me.

True. He did come see me as soon as I landed a few days ago and that was perfect. One of our best interactions I would say. Which is exactly why my tears have nothing to do with him.

“It’s not you!” I say crying.

“What is it then?” he asks.

I stay quiet for what seems like an eternity.

“I don’t like it here” I say quietly staring out my window.

He raises his eyebrows. “You don’t like Boston?” he asks surprisingly. “I thought you loved it. That’s why you moved here”

“I do. But like. I was this big deal in Chicago. Everyone knew who I was. And now. I am a nobody” I say sadly.

He sighs. “Did someone piss you off?” he asks.

“No” I say laughing.

“Then why are you suddenly feeling like this?”

“I’ve felt this way for a long time. I tried to tell you!”

He hugs me. “I’m sorry I didn’t catch it before. Next time, you need to stop me and tell me you really need to talk”.

I smile. “Okay”.

sometimes-you-just-have-to-give-yourself-the-pep-talk-3023443“As for the situation. It happens Shahz. When you want to be successful, you need to move to new places and you need to meet new people and you need to do new things. It’s a big part of growing up. You are already amazing, but you know you’re here, and you’re trying to do big things and in like a year and a half- you’ll have a Master’s. And then if it’s still bad, you can decide where to go next”.

I rest my head on his shoulder.

And it got me thinking.

I don’t know what some of my readers do. Like what do you do for a living? Do you work? What do you do? Are you still in school? What do you study?

Comment below!

I think my reader demographics are important 🙂

xoxo. S.

13 thoughts on “What do all my readers do?

  1. I work in an inside sales support role for a technology company. I quote/process orders for the contractors who install all of the equipment for the major cell phone carriers in the US. Verizon, AT&T, etc. Some days it is trying, some days it is a cake walk. But the rough days, working OT for no pay, getting hollered at because things are wrong or late – might be as brutal as grad school. LOL Tears have been shed. Thanks for asking!

    • Myka, thank YOU for sharing! Your job sounds really cool 🙂 Props to you for carrying on despite the tears! I think we’ll both make it 🙂 I’ll definitely need to stop by your blog when I’m not doing homework haha.

  2. I am pursuing my masters at the same university I got my undergrad, however, I took a three year break, moved away, and met someone before coming back. Long distance relationships are quite hard! Going back to school has definitely been a trip, but it’s the best decision I have made.

  3. Is “search for purpose” a good enough answer?

    When I went away to university it took me a whole year to feel like I fit in. It takes time but I believe in you!

  4. I am currently on staff with my church and I wear a lot of different hats. I’m a children’s ministry assistant and I supervise a counseling program that we have. But the bulk of my job entails creative content, so I handle all the website/social media stuff. A lot of it I delegate out (which has been hard for me to learn to do), but I do get to write a lot, which I love. And I’ve been learning the ropes on graphic design and video editing, which I’m discovering I also love and may actually have a talent for. I love every second of this job because, to me, it’s not work. My staff team is amazing and are pretty much like family to me.

    I’m 36 years old and finally feel like I’m doing what I was meant to do. I don’t know if it’s what I’ll do for the rest of my life, but I really hope it is.

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

