Third Time’s A Charm

(Also Known as “Dating Part 6”)

So after being stood up by “K” twice, I knew he must have one hell of an awesome date planned for us. Boy he did.

When 9:00 came and I got no notification he was here, I panicked. But at last, at 9:03, I got the call that he was outside.

And there he was outside waiting for me in his car.

I smile and get in his car, “Hey” I say.

His jaw drops. “Oh my god. Hi. Can I just” he hugs me “touch you to make sure you’re real”.

I burst out laughing.

One of our friends introduced us to each other and we haven’t seen each other in person till now.

I put on my seat belt. “Where we going?”

“I ‘m taking you to this French bar that has the most amazing wine” he says pulling out of my street.

“Sounds good” I say.

We instantly connect and talk about lots of things.

When we get to the bar, we sit down and he orders us both a glass of Pinot Noir.

As we wait, he can’t stop staring at me.

“You look like a (insert my full name that means Princess) right now”.

I smile.

“Your lips, just fall perfectly on your face” he says.

I laugh.

“God when you laugh, you look like a million bucks babe” he says.

I smile.

We talk and we talk. We connect so much I tell him about my ADHD.

He is surprisingly very understanding.

“That’s part of the reason I freaked out when you didn’t answer my messages” I say.

“That will never happen again. I promise” he says.

So he explains he was having a mental breakdown, his company’s server crashed and the car accident all messed up his mind.

“Like I was sitting there. Looking at my server. With my phone in one hand opening all your snaps. And I was like “should I respond? should I?” but I was freaking out Shahz” he says.

I shrug. “You could have just told me. I have a mental breakdown every other day” I say.

“See. Well now I know you have ADHD and you would understand. At the time I was so embarrassed” he says.

As we continue to connect, we talk about how he is younger than me.

“Oh my god. I am a cougar!” I say.

“If you’re a cougar, I’ll be your cub. But you’re only like a year or so older so we don’t qualify” K says laughing.

He continues making jokes and I feel all this blood rush up my cheeks.

“You are blushing so much right now” K says.

I look away and smile. It is very hard to make me blush because of my skin tone but he knows how to do it.

After the wine, I get hungry. So “K” asks for the check and pays. We decide we will walk and find a place. “K” holds my hand as we walk.

The only place that looks open in P.F Changs. “That’s my dad’s favorite restaurant. We go there every time we have to celebrate something” I say laughing.

“K” looks at me. “You wanna go there?” he asks.

Wow. P.F Changs for a first date. I think my dad would love him.

So we go to P.F Changs and the hostess gives us a gigantic booth. We sit on opposite sides and “K” looks at me for one second when he says, “I can’t sit this far away from you”. I laugh.

I order my favorite, honey chicken.

As we wait for our food. “K” and I talk about our families. He has a crazier family than mine. I didn’t even know that is possible. Finally, he wants to know about my family.

Fuck.

I don’t normally tell a guy about my parents on our first date (let alone ever), but “K” seems like he wants to be in a serious relationship with me. And if that’s the case, he should know.

I hold his hand for support. He holds it back.

And I tell him.

He doesn’t even flinch. And is very understanding.

“So that’s why I’m scared of serious relationships” I say.

He looks into my eyes. “I’d never do that to you, Shahz” he says.

“I know you wouldn’t” I say smiling.

Our food arrives and we eat and continue talking.

When we’re done. The waitress asks if we would like dessert. He gestures to me.

“Um yes” I say.

“Great, I’ll bring you the menu” the waitress says.

I look at “K”. “Am I making you broke right now? I don’t have to have dessert” I say.

He shakes his head and kisses me on the cheek. “No I want you to have what you want”.

I could just collapse ❤

So I order the cheesecake and we split it.

At one point, he take the fork with cheesecake and puts it in my mouth. Oh my gosh. I have never been so romanticized. “I think we need the check” I say as I feel myself blushing harder.

“Yea, you’re right” K says laughing.

I reflect on what an amazing night I just had. I felt like a Queen. Could this really be it? Is it12553016_753650241437481_251180493271500687_n good for me to have a relationship right now? I’m studying for my Master’s and I don’t want it to be a distraction.

Our fortune cookies arrive.

“Oh my god, I wonder what these could possibly say” I say laughing.

I open mine and burst out laughing.

“What?” K asks.

“Don’t mistake your next opportunity as a distraction” I say laughing hard.

“You see?” K says.

“Yea. That will be a story to tell our kids. Open yours!” I say.

He does and takes one look and closes his eyes and laughs.

“Oh my god what?” I ask.

“You are in for a long journey with a friend” he says.

We both laugh and head out. He takes me for a drive around the city. When it’s time to say goodbye, a weirdly good song is playing in his car.

I ask him what it is.

“You like it?” he asks smiling.

“No” I say lieing.

“It’s ‘I see fire’ by Ed Sheeran. I only have it because it’s from Lord of the Rings” he says.

“Do you see fire in me?” I ask.

He smiles and nods.

And then he kisses me. And then that kiss turns into another. And then three. And then 4. And then 100.

Many songs with the most appropriate lyrics play.

And then “All of Me” by John Legend starts playing.

“Ugh. Now it’s that one song that reminds everyone about their past relationships” K says.

I laugh and look at him. “Or…a new one” I say.

He kisses my hand.

Yes. I’d like to hope. This is it. And third time’s a charm.

But maybe. Not.

xoxo. S.

4 thoughts on “Third Time’s A Charm

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

