Dating Part 6

I can’t believe I haven’t blogged in two weeks. This is a record. And I have so many updates!

The weekend I wrote my last post, “Lovebug”, I was really sad. My friend Yasmeen texted me that night.

“Hey! It’s Friday! That means you have time to talk to me. How are you?” she asked.

“Fine” I say.

“How’s the boys? How’s school? How’s your mom?” she follows up.

“All fine” I say.

Somehow, I know she’ll call my bullshit.

“Something’s not right. Tell me Shahz” she says.

I sigh. There are no secrets with best friends. I tell her I’m worried about my mom. I tell her it was weird having “Prince Player” call me “lovebug” because only my mom calls me that.

“I think it’s a sign. That she was thinking of you” Yasmeen says.

I smile. So true.

And on that matter, I realize that as much as I miss “Prince Player”, he didn’t treat me half as well as my dates in Boston have.

So I begin to mingle again.

And on Columbus day (2 days later), I meet, “K”. (We gotta call him “K” because he has a unique Arabic name like mine and I need to respect his privacy :0)

Anyways. Like most people I end up having the best relationships with, I’m not really attracted to him at first.

He is in undergrad (oops) but took a semester off to start his own company (redeemed myself).

We talk about our cultures, our religion, our interests. We find a lot of stuff in common and he insists we go out. I say no. So we talk some more and finally, when he begins talking about his dad and how they don’t always see eye to eye, I connect with him. And when he talks about wanting to provide education for undeserved kids, I connect with him. And so the third time he says “I just want to take you out and have wine with you” I say “Okay”. He was shocked. “Seriously? Yay!!!” he says. “Yea” I say.

So we continue talking the next day.

“Good morning Princess!” his text says.

Well damn. What a way to wake up.

I have my midterm presentation that day. I tell him how nervous I am.

“Why nervous? Just be yourself. Ace that presentation beautiful!” he says.

I feel myself blush. I tell him I have a secret.

“Tell me” he says.

“Yesterday, I wondered about you all day” I admit.

“I wondered about you all day. I’m still wondering about you” he says.

And this is when “K” officially asks me out. He suggests Thursday evening and I say thatimg_1189 will be great even though I’m nervous. I warn him about how my life is like walking on eggshells and how I may not “click” with him, but, it doesn’t seem to bother him. “I wouldn’t mind being rejected by someone so amazing like you. I’ve never wanted someone this much before. If we don’t click, we don’t click. I’ll respect your decision. It will be a shame for me but I honestly don’t mind. How many guys get to go on a date with you on Thursday? One. That’s me”.

Well then. How could you say no to a guy that says all that?? So I agree. My presentation that night goes extremely well and he is proud. We continue talking through Wednesday about how excited we are.

Wednesday night, I’m even surprised to get a PHONE CALL from him! Who does this in 2016? :0 A gentlemen ❤

I stare at his name on my iPhone screen.

“Hello” I say.

“Hey beautiful!” he says.

“Hey” I say laughing.

He says he’s excited to see me tomorrow and asks what kinds of foods I like so he can know where he can take me to dinner ❤

We talk for a while and then I call Mr. Photography dude. “He seems like he’ll be a decent guy. Let’s hope he’s not like your last 2 dates in Boston and Third Time’s A Charm”. Right. Sure.

So Thursday arrives and I am suddenly nervous. I have an extremely bad intuition. I don’t have a good feeling about this date.

I tell my good friend Anna before class begins. She tells me I should “cancel it” if I have that bad of an intuition. But just as we discuss it, my phone blows up with texts from “K”.

“Oh fuck” I say staring at the screen as Anna watches over my shoulder.

“Hi babe”

“I’m so sorry we will have to reschedule for tomorrow. I got into a pretty bad accident last night and didn’t catch much sleep. Things came up at work too. I know this sounds really awful but can I make it up to you tomorrow?”

“Same deal, just one more day”

“Bear with me?”

I look at the four texts. Of course it’s okay. I tell him and ask if he’s alright. He says nothing.

So I wait another 24 hours. Friday comes and I have no word from him. Not even a confirmation about our plans.

I’m sad. One of the med students who I occasionally talked to over the past few weeks comes over to me as I sit on the bench after class and stare at “K’s” name on my phone screen.

“Hey Shahz” he says.

“What’s up Ahmed?” I ask.

He straightens his stethoscope out. “Nothing. Did you think about what I said?”

I look at him. “No Ahmed. You’re a great guy. But I met this guy. And I’m starting to like him okay? I need to be loyal to him”  I say.

“Did he even respond to your texts?” Ahmed asks.

I look down. “No” I say.

“Huh. You gonna let him stand you up twice?” he asks.

I shake my head. “What the fuck is wrong with this dude. We really connected. Why would he do this to me?”

Ahmed shakes his head too. “I don’t know. But he’s a lucky guy. You know where to find me if things don’t work out” he says.

I nod.

“I gotta get back to the clinic. Take care” he says.

I go home and am in shock that “K” has not returned any of my texts or Snapchats.

I wake up Saturday morning. And I have loads of texts, but still none from him.

No way.

I had sent him a Snapchat saying “Don’t fuck this up, K” and I saw that he “opened” it.

But no response.

So I call him. It goes straight to voicemail. Not even a voicemail box, but a straight up click.

Is this for real?

So I send him one hell of a message. This will be it.

“Look K. I don’t know what’s going on but, I’m really worried because you haven’t answered any of my messages. And you stood me up twice (you could have told me about the second one). I find it hard to believe that you don’t want me anymore, considering all the things you said to me- but if that’s the case, just let me know. I will delete your number and move on.”

I press send before I even reconsider.

And one hour later.

I. get. a. response.

“I’m so sorry. I can explain everything. Are you free tonight? If so, I’m coming to see you and bringing a bottle of wine. I have had a really rough time emotionally these past two days. But it’s no excuse. I fucked up, I hope you can get over it. Let me make it up to you” he says.

My jaw drops. The original message was way longer than that, but I cut it for privacy. Anyways, I tell “K” it’s fine and I look forward to seeing him.

Little did I know. There’s such a thing as “Third Time’s A Charm”.

(to be continued)

xoxo. S.

11 thoughts on “Dating Part 6

  1. Reading your post reminded me of how rejections hurt. Even if it is so.much as a postpone in the plan. I feel.for you. I hope it goes all right and that he doesn’t cancel on you again. You’ll share the follow-up post or no?

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

