Eggshells

I must say the past week has been crazy stressful with an exam everyday, paper due every other day, and a presentation.

brisgeAnd my heartbreak over “Y” doesn’t really make things better. I will never understand why he abruptly stopped talking to me after one of the most amazing night’s ever. Oh well. His loss.

Other guys tried to come into my life, but they were all nothing compared to him. They weren’t respectful or caring like “Y” was. I message “Prince Player” for advice. We talked earlier in the day, but I needed to hear from him again.

I tell him a little bit about the situation.

“Don’t spend any time on them” he says.

I could die. People used to tell me the same thing about him!

And then he says, “I’ve changed a lot. I think it would be different if you were still here”.

I’m puzzled. “What would you do differently?” I ask.

“I would take you out on actual dates instead of that booty call thing we always did” he says.

My jaw drops.

I waited 4 years. 4. Y.E.A.R.S. For him to say that.

My heart beats fast. Why. Why now? When I’m gone?

How many times I gave a performance that got a standing ovation, and he wasn’t there to see my show. How many times I had to go to a ball, and he couldn’t be my date. How many times I wanted to discuss something serious with him, but I couldn’t. How many times he took pictures with other girls and posted it on social media, but not with me.How many times I wanted to wear a cute outfit and go out with him.

How many times I wanted to be that girl, but I wasn’t. Because we didn’t have that kind of relationship.

I swallow. Unbelievable.

Since we’re on the topic, I ask him about something that’s been bothering me.

“Do you still think I’m a princess?” I ask.

“No. I don’t think I ever did” he says.

“Then why did you call me that?” I ask.

“I guess I always just felt like I was walking on eggshells with you”.

I stare at my phone.

Eggshells. Eggshells.

My motivational talk about my ADHD I’m known for giving is called “Walking on Eggshells”.

But.

What the fuck does “Prince Player” mean by it? I ask him.

“Part of me was waiting for the day you would say ‘Look. I think I expected things that you didn’t’. And you showed that to me in various ways, but you didn’t say it”.

I swallow. I tell myself to be calm.

He is partially right. He is actually 95% right about it.

I tell him today will be the day I say it. And I do.

“Okay. I’ll say it today. Look. I think I expected things that you didn’t. I was raised on one value and one value only. Loyalty. I believe in it, and it doesn’t seem like you do and that’s totally fine. I shouldn’t be upset about it. It’s your life, and you should do what makes you happy. My version of happiness is different than your version of happiness. What makes you happy, is not what makes me happy. And I should have known better” I say.

It really was unreasonable for me to get as depressed as I did over his deciding to be with other women. It is his right and his choice to do so.

“Thank you. You have no idea how much that means to me <3” he responds.

I tell him he should have just told me that instead of calling me “princess”. As that comment really hurt me.

He says he doesn’t know why he did that and I laugh over how upset I was over it to find out he really didn’t mean it.

But then I stop realizing when I realize he still doesn’t know my side of the story. So I tell him.

“But look. This isn’t one sided. I’m not upset about what you did, I’m upset I had to find out from my enemies than from someone I love dearly!”I explain.

And I end it with “So that was me walking on eggshells with you”.

He thinks he had to walk on eggshells? Please.

I think about my friends showing me tweets “Prince Player” made to other girls or pictures tumblr_ltceiuxjpz1r0z3hjo1_500he posted with them.

I think about all our mutual friends saying bad things about him, but I would sit there and defend him and stay loyal to him.

Only to find out, what I found out.

For the love of god he can hook up with as many women he wants to. But having to hear that from those girls themselves or my enemies? I think I deserve better than that.

He just won’t get it. Well, maybe he does. Because after that, he’s always been very open with me. As I was with him. But still.

As I want to finally go out on that date with him, I’m glad I left.

Because part of me believes. Things would still be the same. And not much would be different.

Yet. I tell him he should come visit Boston one day.

He may not have been a great friend, but he was a good lover. He did make efforts to change throughout our relationship or whatever it is we had. And I miss him.

When we’re finished talking, I look down at my dress and heels.

A tear drop runs down my face.

Oh no. What “Prince Player” said was a good thing. Why am I crying?? I have a party to get to!

I get a call from Mr. Photography dude.

“Yasmeen says the board got denied funding. Use your connections and help them!”

I can’t even think. “Not now. Tell her I’ll call her later”.

“Shahz. What’s wrong?” he asks.

I begin taking off my heels. I lay in my bed. “Nothing”.

“Didn’t you have a party to go tonight?”

I lay on my pillow. “Yea but I’m not going” I say.

“Which guy did you talk to?” he asks.

I begin laughing. “What?”

“Every time you don’t want to go out it’s because of a guy!” he says.

“Player” I say.

“Go figure” he says.

“It was good. It wasn’t bad” I say.

“Then why do you sound sad?” he asks.

I stare at the ceiling. “I’m just thinking about what could have been” I say.

“Well stop. Because it wouldn’t have been!” he says.

“How do you know?” I ask laughing.

“Fate. You wrote about it on your blog remember?”

Oh yea. “How about what could be?”

“If it’s meant to be it will be. Speaking of which. Go to that party. You may meet some cute boys!”

I roll my eyes and put my heels back on.

(to be continued)

xoxo. S.

2 thoughts on “Eggshells

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

