Decisions, decisions

“Well, it’s up to Madame President.” Everyone turns to me.

I suck in my cheeks. Why. Must. I. Make. The hard. Decisions.

I’m not even over my weekend yet!

Last Friday: “Yea, we can do that next week” Player said smiling at me.

lunalovegood115-1589894_640_352My eyes widen. There’s a next week? :0 Christ. Last time we were together, player said, “We’ll do that next time. If there even is a next time….” implying he didn’t want one (and we didn’t, until now).

I smile. Oh that made me happy. I think. I shake it off. I don’t want my wild imagination to get ahead of me. Player leaves quickly. It’s good because he was tired and I had my flight in the morning.

I barely slept because of all the nerves. And then, I woke up in between feeling sick. I oversleep and end up missing my flight :/ Thankfully, I catch the next one and make it to my interview in time. It goes pretty well and I loved the campus.

Back to reality.

My board is waiting on me to make a decision on who I would like to pass my presidential role to and who else I want on next year’s executive board.

I swallow. “I need a minute” I say.

They all look at each other. I raise my eyebrows (implying I mean business!). They shrug and pack up their belongings.

Mr. Photography dude stays. They look at him. “What. I’m practically her assistant!”

I laugh and wait until they leave.

I bury my face on the table when everyone’s gone.

“So?” Mr. Photography dude says poking me after I didn’t move for 2 solid minutes.

“I can’t do this” I say.

“You better do this” he says.

“Why do I suddenly have to make all these decisions??” I ask. “Do I want this person to be President, or do I want that person to be President? Do I go to BU, or do I not go to BU? Do I trust player and try to patch up whatever it is we had with the time we have left. Or do I not-?” I start listing off all my questions.

Mr. Photography dude spits out his gum. “I’m sorry. What was that last one? About player?” he asks.

Sidekick walks in. “Yea what about player?”

“Where did you come from?” Mr. Photography dude asks.

Sidekick points outside the door. “There”. I laugh at him. “They said you guys are deliberating in here. I didn’t know it was about player!” Sidekick says getting excited.

“We weren’t…” Mr. Photography dude says glaring at me.

“Well hell I want to. Did you guys hang out after your meeting last night?” he asks pulling up a chair.

I look at Mr. Photography dude and gape. “How-?” I begin.

“Oh please. I know you had one of your meetings last week. That’s why you couldn’t hang out with us. And I know what happens after those meetings” he says winking.

I smile and try to hide my laughter.

Mr. Photography dude glares at me and gasps. “Oh no way…no way. You did didn’t you? That’s why you missed your flight the next day!”

I roll my eyes. “You guys the security lines at O’hare are madness. It was going out the door. Keep in mind I was also feeling very sick-” I begin.

“I told you not to eat all that gluten” Mr. Photography dude says.

Sidekick looks like he won the lottery. “I knew it. She saw him!” He looks at Mr. Photography dude, “pay up” he says.

My eyes widen. Mr. Photography dude slips $10 to Sidekick and shakes his head at me. “I was rooting for you”.

My jaw drops. “You guys made a bet???” I ask.

“We’ve been betting all year. You’re making me broke!” Mr. Photography dude says.

“And you’re making me rich” Sidekick says pulling out his wallet.

I laugh and roll my eyes. “Why Shahz. Why. You deserve better” Mr. Photography dude says.

I sigh. “I’m leaving soon. For good. I want to see him as much as possible before I go. Just like you guys. It’s simple” I say.

“Yea but we’re good people” he says.

“Player’s a good person too” I say as I take off my heels that kill. “Be happy for me” I say grabbing his arm.

He shrugs. “It’s all good until you pose like this” he makes an angry face “and this at my photo shoots because you’re pissed at something he did”. I laugh. “Or when you show up to one of these meetings and you’re not the badass President you are because you’re pissed at something he did.” I laugh.

“Did you guys decide on President yet?” Sidekick asks. He has gotten off his high of me talking to player again.

I look at Mr. Photography dude. They both look at me. “What? This club is my baby. I gotta hand it down to someone who will take good care of it!” I say.

“Trust princess. Trust” Mr. Photography dude says organizing the applications of our top choices in front of me.

I choose an application. “This one” I say. Mr. Photography dude raises his eyebrows. “Mariam?” he asks. I nod.

“She’s not committed” he says biting his lip.

I sigh. “I know. But. She’s the only one that wants to specifically be president. Everyone else is open to any position” I say shrugging. “When she’s president, she will learn commitment”.

After deliberating for another hour, I choose 3 more board members. It is nice to see all the applications in a row. I made a decision!!!

When I get home. My dad has a question for me. “So did you decide about Boston?”539049756

Yikes.

And if you’re faced with a choice and you have to choose, I hope you choose the one that means the most to you.

xoxo. S.

2 thoughts on “Decisions, decisions

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

