Big News In the Middle of the Storm <3

So there I was, walking to class from breakfast. I bump into “Heart” after not seeing him for like a month, and he literally says “Hey, how are you?” and walks away. Cold. Can’t stand him these days.

I sit in the most longest boring Psych class ever. I have two back to back. When it gets time to do individual work, I just browse my iPad. When I notice an email from the University of Colorado. My dream school. The 30th best MPH program in the country.

263a309db4d300e9dac091cd708fa39cIt has the big letters, “CONGRATULATIONS!!!” in the subject line. My eyes start to water. Could it be? Could it really be? I finally got into a grad school? And my top choice grad school?

I read the email. IT IS!!!! I step outside to call my mom and dad. They are very happy. Then I add it to my Snapchat story. Mr. Photography dude and Sidekick who are supposed to be paying attention in class respond immediately with their congrats. More friends do the same. I go to the bakery and grab some scones to celebrate.

I can’t stop smiling all day. When I walk back into the building for night class, they are sitting on the couches getting ready for night class. They smother me.

“Mabrook!!!!! (Congratulations!) You see. I told you. Freakin told you that you would get in!” Mr. Photography dude says. “I swear this girl, she acts like she doesn’t know anything but she fools all of us. She’s smart!” I laugh. I’m flattered. I think.

I can’t focus at all in night class. My new class is interesting, but I just can’t focus with the good news I FINALLY got. As I can’t focus, I see my phone light up. I think it is my mom. My mom had been texting all day saying how she was proud of me. “Your father is so proud. He said he will help you pay for tuition if you go there” she said earlier. Aw.

So I check my phone. My eyes widen. It is actually player :0 Goodness, I’ve been worried about that one. He must have been so busy…

Player offers me his congrats and reminds me about how he told me things would be okay. Aw. When I get out of class, I thank him and tell him I want to see him soon. He agrees. It is cute ❤

I call my parents as I do every night. And I am finally able to talk to my dad myself, as he was working all day. “Yea we’re really proud of you hun. This is amazing. But…”

What.What is he going to say??

“I would like you to go to a school closer to school…in Texas…”

Ah. Of course. Those schools are also ranked higher. Important to my parents. I tell him I’ll retake the GRE and consider it.

I go to meet “Mr. Photography dude” and “Sidekick” as their night classes ended early too.

“Soooo Miss MPH- what should our celebration dinner be??” Mr. Photography dude asks.

I laugh. “It’s okay. Let’s just go to the student center, I’m not that hungry anyway…” I say.

They look at me. “What’s wrong with you? You’re always hungry” Mr. Photography dude says.

“NOTHINGGG. Omg player congratulated me! I’m good! I’m happy!” I say grabbing both their arms and walking through the nasty storm Chicago seemed to be having.

“Well that’s cute. Why aren’t you happy then?” Mr. Photography dude asks.

I sigh. When Sidekick goes to say hi to one of his friends, I look at Mr. Photography dude.

“My dad” I say.

He laughs. “Okay enough said” he says.

I give him a sad face. “Come on don’t do that. You faced some of the toughest obstacles in college. Be proud you got accepted there, even if you have to go somewhere else. Let’s celebrate the now!” he says.

I smile. I just can’t believe it. It seems like just yesterday I was at my current college touring the campus. And now. I sit with my first acceptance letter and a request to tour one of the best MPH schools in the country ❤

Oh. Here I was crying over college ending. And now. I feel like. The best is yet to come… 🙂

xoxo. S.

7 thoughts on “Big News In the Middle of the Storm <3

  1. I literally almost teared up reading this. CONGRATULATIONS!!! x 1000!!! I may not personally know you but I for damn sure are happy for you. Things like this really light up my life. Stay encouraged baby girl. God got you! Congrats again!!

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

