The Many Different Ways to Say I Love You

Tuesday morning

“You did what?”

I’m having coffee with Mr. Photography dude and Sidekick before our classes begin.

“I told ‘Prince Player’ to get a flu shot” I say shrugging. “I got mine on Saturday!” I say proudly revealing my bandaid.

“You said you were never going to him speak again” Mr. Photography dude says.

“Well yea! But I saw a snapchat where he mentioned he was sick so…I told him to get a flu shot! I don’t want his cooties on me!”

“Oh my god. You didn’t say cooties. You’re crazy. What makes you think you two will swap “cooties” again?

“Nothing! But like. I don’t want him to be sick! Jeez. So he needs to get his cootie shot” I say.

He laughs. And Sidekick can barely control himself. “WHAT??? Stop laughing! Just because I hate him doesn’t mean I don’t care about his health and want him to be sick! Stop laughing” I say.

But they won’t. “It’s just so weird that would be the first actual thing you say to him after your guys’s argument” Sidekick says.

I roll my eyes. “You guys. This is Mercury retrograde. Lots of shit is happening right now. Messages aren’t being sent, people aren’t saying their words right, we need to spread the love!”

And then we all get in a debate about how you can say “I love you” in so many different ways without actually saying “I love you”. I list off my favorite ones.

“Put a jacket on!”

“Hope you feel better”

“How was your day?”

“Need anything?”

“Text me when you get home”

“I just wanted to say hi”

“Don’t be long…”

“This reminded me of you”

“It will all be okay”

“Get your flu shot you germ!” (My favorite)

“It’s okay not to be okay”

I pause. The last one. Was what “Prince Player” once told me.

“Well then. No wonder why you fall for people easily. You think anybody who says theseFullSizeRender(15) love you” Mr. Photography dude says laughing thinking I’m done with my list.

I smile lightly and gather up my things. “Yea I guess”.

“Nooooo Shahz! I was joking! No seriously. You’re right. They really are different ways to show someone you care. Put this on your blog tonight!”

I laugh. Here it is readers. What is your favorite way to say I love you without really saying it? Oh, and be sympathetic to everyone during this Mercury retrograde! ❤

xoxo. S.

One thought on “The Many Different Ways to Say I Love You

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

