Maybe, my internship isn’t so bad…

dreaming“I had a dream about you last night”.

It’s been a while since “Prince Player” and I talked. I think I briefly chatted with him before I left for my internship. And the first few days of my internship when I was struggling. But we haven’t talked like “Heart” and I have talked. “Heart” and I had long conversations on Skype these past few weeks. In fact, this Summer, “Heart” contacted me before “Prince Player”. It surprised me because 1) he’s a douchebag (although the accusation of him being with other girls has not been confirmed) 2) he said he wanted to “work on getting over each other” this Summer 3) Player contacted me way before he did last Summer

Oh well, every Summer isn’t the same. Speaking of which, things are getting a teensy bit better here at my internship. A little. Not a lot. It’s still very stressful. I work 16 hours a day, 7 days a week. My co-workers are hard to work with, my students are hard to work with, nothing is easy around here.

This past week has been hard. “Heart” stopped talking to me last week. It’s okay because I have been exhausted teaching class every day. I was appointed as the event planner and this week was the annual talent show :0 Every day was a non-stop debate with co-workers and students preparing for the day. But at last. Tonight was the talent show, and I think it went well. Of course, I heard criticism from students and a few co-workers. And then, when I got back to my dorm- my supervisor didn’t even compliment me on this huge event I organized! But I erased it out of my head. I planned an event, and in my mind it went well- I didn’t need anyone’s affirmation.

After I walked by each students room and did “lights out”, I bumped into a student.

“Hey Shahz, are you going on the Farmer’s Market field trip tomorrow?” Every weekend, the students and their RA’s go on a field trip. There a variety of options. This weekend, I was chosen to chaperone the “Minions” movie outing so I would not be going to Farmer’s Market. I tell him the news.

“Oh. That’s too bad. Do you have any favorite fruits or vegetables I can bring back for you?”

What?  People do like me around here ❤ I had tears in my eyes. This is why I love my job. Although we can’t really accept stuff from students, once a week a student will ask me something like this. But for this student to ask me after an extremely hard week- I know people don’t hate me and I must be doing something right 🙂

I say goodnight to him and shut my door. I smile to myself.

I check my phone and raise my eyebrows. It’s a snapchat from “Prince Player”. I had snapchatted him earlier, but I thought he would ignore me like he always does. I open it.

“I had a dream about you last night”.

Well good. I’m glad I’m not the only one having dreams.

My eyes are closing, but I want to know the context of this dream. I type back and ask him if it was a good dream.

As I’m falling asleep, my phone lights up.

“Of course”.

I smile. I wish “Prince Player” would talk to me more often. I wish “Heart” would talk to me instead of those other girls. I wish I got more days off to see my family and help them with their move. But…I kind of like it here. Just a little!

xoxo. S.

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

