My brother, my hero

While most people my age were getting drunk out of their minds this weekend for St. Patrick’s day, I had some serious business to do.

Ever since I found out I had ADHD, my therapist noticed that there are actually some different problems in my schoolwork. She suggested I go and get tested for specific learning disabilities. These past few months, my mom and I have been looking for a doctor. We finally found a good one. Most doctors told us to wait 3 to 6 months, but this one said he would squeeze me in before I leave for spring break. The only problem was, he is located in a suburb in the totally opposite direction of where I grew up. My mom was worried about my safety as I would have to go there by myself. The suburb was actually near where my brother went to college.

Luckily for my mom, my brother was in town this weekend and he could take me. Unlucky for me, I’d have to deal with him all weekend.

Now as many of you may or may not know, ever since my brother graduated from college this past May, we have been very distant. He works for one of the biggest banks in America and can be very insensitive, annoying, and bossy sometimes. He thinks I’m a very sassy, slow, and weird college girl. See the sibling rivalry?

Before he graduated from college, we were inseparable! I loved crashing his college parties, I loved hanging out with him, and I just wanted to be exactly like him-he was my role model.

So when he graduated college and I felt this “distance” from him, I was sad. Every now and then, he comes up to see me and takes me out of dinner. And even then, he irritates the heck out of me and I irritate the heck out of him.

So when my mom said that my brother had to take care of me all weekend- he rolled his eyes and I just prayed we would get along.

Our day started out yesterday, I took the subway full of drunken kids and went to the train station to meet up with me brother. He was constantly texting me to make sure I was okay. Once I met up with him, we got on the train and sat in silence for hours until we got to the doctor’s office. When we got there, we had about an hour to kill so we went and got breakfast. This is where the ice began to break a bit.

Big Brother“Sorry I ruined your St. Patty’s weekend bro…” I said.

“Hey it’s okay. I went to the bar last night with my friends. Oh and I had 4 extremely crazy ones back when I was in college anyway” he added with a wink.

I smiled. As we walked to the doctor’s office, we got word that the doctor actually works at home on weekends and we needed to go there. So there we stood, in the middle of the suburb, no idea where to go.

As my brother GPSed us, I threw my hands up in the air and said “I swear. God’s making us do some weird bonding exercise!”

Eventually. After lots of walking, we made it! My brother took a seat in the doctor’s living room as I went for my testing. My testing took about 4 hours- I looked at a lot of pictures, listened to a lot of things, and wrote some stuff. And I was done. I thanked the doctor for his time and he told us he will see me today to continue on to the 2nd part of the test.

The next train home was in an hour so my brother and I decided to eat at the fancy Mexican restaurant near by. For some reason, it reminded me of “Heart”. I don’t know what it was (as he is Arab) but- I didn’t like it. My brother sensed something was wrong.

“Hey. Let’s go to the cupcake store across the street. Buy whatever you want- on me.” my brother said.

As I sat at the train station eating my confetti cupcake, my brother put his arm around me, “I really had fun with you today. I’m sorry if I ever say you’re dumb, I never really mean it. I love you and hope all this testing allows us to figure out how to help you”.

And with that, our train came and he fell asleep on my shoulder on the ride home.

Yes, I love my brother so much. We fight hard, but we love harder.

xoxo. S.

3 thoughts on “My brother, my hero

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

