A Letter to “Heart”

Dear qalb (that’s heart in Arabic, for my readers 😉 )

I decided that on the weeks I can’t see you, I’ll write you a letter. This past Thursday I started feeling sick. I’ve been battling a fever and it hasn’t gone away so I went to the doctor today. She says that I need to rest and stay away from everyone. That means you, my love.

It’s not like I can see you anyway. You’re probably working and studying for finals. I hate timing, I really do. I don’t know how you do all of it. I remember you were really sick over winter break and you still worked your shift from 8 am to 10 pm! And then you came home, and still talked to me all night ❤ You are one hell of an inspiration to me.

Friday, I have an interview for an internship. And Saturday and Sunday, I’m going for this learning disability testing. And somewhere in between, I gotta study for finals. I’d say it really stinks that the fever came in between all of this, but then I think of you. I think if I told you all of this, you would tell me to breathe and carry on with my daily activities.

I talked to my dad last night. He was actually very nice. When I sounded sad, he asked “What is it, Shaz?” And I told him that it is really hard to be this sick when I’m 1,000 miles away from him. You can probably guess what he said next, he said I should consider moving to Colorado.

heartLoud sigh. I can’t wait for this quarter to be over. Honestly, the best part of this quarter was probably being with you and doing well in all my courses (except Chemistry).

Exactly one week ago, you were in my arms. I hope the things we discussed never keep us apart. You’re right, there’s a lot of outside factors we can’t control- but it isn’t impossible to make things work. It’s hard to let you go every single time because you’re my best friend and you give me clarity. Some people ask why I cry over you, pray for us, dream about you, and cry when we kiss. Because you make my heart feel the most beautiful things, that’s why.

I know you probably feel the same exact way. That’s why you call me “eyes”. Because I help you see ❤ I have to explain our pet names to my readers soon haha!

Until I can see you again,

xoxo. Your soul and eyes.

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

