Something’s Gotta Give (a.k.a. The Lump)

I am very sorry I couldn’t think of a sexier title reader.

But, I ain’t joking. I’m finally ready to tell you guys what happened this past Monday morning.

So Monday morning, I was getting ready to fly back to Chicago. After I got out of the shower and started getting dressed, I felt sore in my underarm. I felt around it, and holy shit I FOUND A LUMP! I screamed bloody murder, wrapped a towel around myself, and ran up half naked to my mother. I explained the situation and she felt it, and she agreed. She told my dad and he told us to book an appointment with the doctor right away. But as I explained in Coming Back to Reality (Weekend Musings!), my flight was leaving in three hours and there was no way to get an appointment. So they told me to call the health clinic at my school and make an appointment there.

Can you imagine me on the phone reader? The receptionist asked what I needed to be seen for. I ruled out all serious illnesses as I’m only 20 and just awkwardly said…. “Um. I discovered a lump in my armpit”. Lol, I didn’t have the class to say underarm. And then, the second I said that, the receptionist responded “Oh goodness, we will try to get you in as soon as possible. Please come in tomorrow morning”. Well that didn’t help me rest assured.

But finally, Tuesday morning arrived. The first part of my day started out with me bumping into “Heart”, had this been two weeks ago- I would have told him about what I was heading to. But I just made a casual funny conversation with him and smiled my biggest fake smile as I nervously walked on to the clinic.

I layed in the doctor’s office for about 45 minutes, when finally Dr. Wilson walked in. She is the sassiest doctor I have ever met let me tell you. She looked at her chart and said, “Miss Shaz! (HOW DID SHE KNOW MY NICKNAME IS SHAZ?) Welcome, welcome, sweetheart. You are so beautiful! Where are you from?” I engaged in her small talk and then she told me to take my shirt off.

So I sat there in my bra, raised my arm over my head and posed like a Victoria’s Secret model as she poked around. It hurt like hell and I said “Ow. Ow. Ow.”

And then she stopped. And she told me- “It’s a swollen gland. Have you had any serious fevers or stress lately?” I said yes to the stress. She said that is the reason, and told me to take the antibiotics she prescribed and put warm compress on it daily.

dear godCan you believe it reader? I was so stressed that I let it affect my health! I feel so guilty. If I could just calm myself and get over my family’s move, “Heart” breaking up with me, and failing chemistry- my health could be better! True- I didn’t make the lump appear, it was my body’s reaction, but ugh. Just when I thought things couldn’t get worse. This explains why I woke up last week looking pale. The doctor had explained my body is fighting off something serious.

Serious stress. Jeez 😦 Did I tell you guys I saw Heart with some other chick today? How funny is it that I am suffering more serious things than that and that’s the only thing I can think about? Something’s gotta give and February needs to end ASAP.

xoxo. S.

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

