That Moment When I Broke Down During Our Thanksgiving Dinner

Hello reader,

By now I hope you have recovered from your lavish thanksgiving meals and Black Friday shopping. Many of you are heading home and going back to work/school. I wish you all the happiness ❤

So this past Thursday was probably the most emotional Thanksgiving my family has had. For my readers who are not familiar with the Thanksgiving tradition, Thanksgiving is a time in America when we give thanks for what we have and most people eat a huge meal consisting of turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, and more. My family does food a little differently however, see What’s On My Thanksgiving Table.

This was my first official week in my new home of Colorado. As soon as I got home, my dad told me to weigh myself. He knows I have a tendency to get skinny when when life throws so many curve balls my way. I just rolled my eyes and did it anyway, I was shocked to see that I am 6 pounds lighter. I can’t believe it…I don’t ever want to go back to that road. But I will get better and I know it, I finally feel great- I am reunited with my family again!

My parents worked so hard to make everything seem as homely and arranged everything to look like our old house. When we went around the table to share what we were thankful for, my mom went first. And then my brother. They said the usual. But then my dad spoke. He talked about how he was thankful for his new job, our new home, our health, and how my brother graduated this year. He held back so much tears at that point because that last part has been the proudest moment of his life. I could not agree more, I had tears in my eyes. And then  of course…it was turned over to me. Gosh I was sobbing hard.

I told them I had so much to be thankful for this year. Just a few months ago, I was sick and hating myself. I will never forget they way I tossed my stupid meds out after I was inspired by my brother’s graduation and my happiness. They were there with me through my recovery. This past quarter at school was the first time I was left alone for so long, and my parents answered their phones 24/7 when I felt lonely and distressed. I had my friends, but they all had their own things to do when I needed them. I was thankful for my dad’s new job (although it made us leave our hometown) which is more easier on him and his health, and gives him the salary he deserves. The second I saw my mom and dad at the airport when they came to pick me up on Monday, I starting crying tears of joy and ran into their arms. When I came home, they comforted me with a home cooked meal and took me out the next day to go see the surrounding area of our new hometown. Although I hate this place and have been criticizing it, my parents have done everything they can to fill it with joy and make my break feel like what it never feels like- a break!

My mom turned red and started crying. My dad had tears in his eyes. And my brother is just Mr. Tough Guy…sooo you know how he is.

But still. What a holiday. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving as well if you celebrated reader 🙂

And tomorrow…now that I have a bit more time… we go back to our normal everyday schedule posts! GET READY!

xoxo. S.

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

