I may have already let the cat out of the bag… blogging about family and friends

Okay so I read this really interesting post on WordPress’s daily post today.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/writing-about-family/

And I have to say I’m already getting in trouble with this. Family reading my blog is a big and 100% NO!

But friends? I actually liked them reading my blog at first. When my blog first came out, I just posted some of my favorite quotes and relationship advice. So I didn’t really care.

But as time went on, I started writing about my life more. The boys I like and the boys I hate. What I love about myself and what I wish I could work on. And then, I regretted telling my friends about the blog.

They would randomly pull me aside and say things like,

“So, who’s that new guy you were talking about on your blog?”

“So, you’ve been having a lot of family issues lately huh?”

Um. Get the f— out? By all means, I’m the one who wrote it and obviously they will read it. But we have shopping and coffee dates for a reason! If they use my blog to get to know me, what’s the point?

There are exceptions to this of course. The men/boys I write about, they are more than welcome to read this blog. In fact I encourage them to, it is their right to read the things I say about them- I just hope they learn something from it.

My best friends who know me like a book, the ones who already know what I’m going to write on my blog before I even publish it- they are also more than welcome.

This blog is for a wide audience. It’s for college kids, it’s for sweet but strong women like me, it’s for parents, it’s for men…but it is no place for anyone to come in and become nosy about my life.

But I must say, most of my readers are actually not friends I know in real life and I absolutely adore you guys ❤ Your comments and e-mails keep me entertained and happy.

xoxo. Shaz.

4 thoughts on “I may have already let the cat out of the bag… blogging about family and friends

  1. I’ve thought about this before! I try to be very anonymous when talking about others but…it’s hard. I just don’t think I’m popular enough for anyone to ever catch on. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I get what you mean. I try to use nicknames or be vague when I refer to other people. But sometimes I wish my blog were just completely anonymous and my friends didn’t know about it. That way I could say anything. It’s a fine line to walk.

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

