What to do about this roommate…

Thank goodness I fought for the single room, reader. But…I can still hear my 6 other roommates loud and clear.

Picture this. You’re taking your chemistry placement exam online when you hear sounds of “Oh, oh, oh, oh”.

Yea. Single room or not, when you are under a time crunch and have severe ADHD… these are not the sounds you want to hear.

It all started Thursday night when my roommate (or should I say housemate) brought her friend over after their wild Halloween night. It was 2 in the morning and I was tired. Now, I’m on the third floor and I just hear all these sounds of shrieking and laughter. I had class in the morning so I had to get some sleep. So I tossed and turned, covered my ears with my pillow, it just did not work.

I couldn’t take it anymore so around 3, I just walked on downstaris stood in her doorway and whispered “Can I shut this door?” Oh she got the hint all right, she was very apologetic and 15 minutes later I could not hear a sound from them two. But the bad part was, I’m a severe insomniac- so if some random noise wakes me up, I’m up all night!

And then Friday night. Yes, this is when her boyfriend came over. I’ll spare you the details and tell you I had to hear strange noises as I was writing my 6 page psychology paper.

Of course Saturday night…it continued. But later that Saturday night, good lord. It was about 1 in the morning when I woke up to screaming and door slamming. Thankfully, there was one of my roommates who had not left for the weekend. We hid in my room together, it was scary! We heard sounds of him punching walls and throwing things! We also heard her say “ouch stop that hurts” and “why are you doing this to me”???  I am honestly so scared, my roommate and I thought about calling the police. Times like this we wished we lived in a freshman dorm with RA’s. But finally, it ended around 4 am.

And then Sunday morning….what do I wake up to? Yes, their make-up sex.

I’m so confused about what’s going on between them. I’m glad they made up but I have two issues:

1) He’s going to keep coming back to visit and I’m officially terrified of him. I fear the safety of myself and my roommates.

2) I’m annoyed by their “noises”

Gosh, what do I do about all of this?

xoxo. SassPrincess.

5 thoughts on “What to do about this roommate…

  1. Wow, that’s crazy. If you pray I would suggest praying for your roommate because she seems to be apart of a very unhealthy relationship. Also, I would just say to excercise patience while asserting authority. You guys are equal in your living situation, however sometimes you have to be firm when demanding respect from others. Wait until you aren’t irratated about things, then just have an open conversation with your roommates explaining exactly how you feel. Hopefully things will go over smoothly and they will understand where you are coming from. The key is always communication. Just clearly, and respectively articulate how you are feeling and they should understand. Best wishes! Keep us (your readers posted!) 🙂

  2. Invest in some good ear plugs ;]
    Communication is key. Always. Cool down some and then have an honest conversation and clear the ear. Set boundaries that you believe are reasonable. She’s in a relationship so she’s gonna have sex haha still doesn’t mean you have to hear it though. I hope things work out :]

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

