Song of the Week: “Wake Me Up” by Avicii

As many of you may know, the movers came in this weekend and packed my house. I layed on the cornfields shortly after and cried my eyes out 😦 It was a beautiful Autumn day and I reflected on my life in the house that built me. As I drove away and said goodbye to my beautiful hometown, this song played. It really explained some of the emotions I was feeling.

Also, I posted a picture on facebook of me laying in those beautiful fall leaves and left a caption implying that I moved. I expected to be offered comfort, and yes some people did give it to me. But most people? Had a few struggles of their own and called on me to help them. One of my freshman called me right when I was moving out crying saying she needed to talk to someone. Of course, I said my goodbye to my house and rushed on over to school to take her out to dinner and console her. I’m glad I did it,but…I have a few struggles of my own and wish there was someone to help me. So the line that sticks out to me the most in this song is “I tried carrying the weight of the world. But I only have two hands.”

Lyrics:

Feeling my way through the darkness
Guided by a beating heart
I can’t tell where the journey will end
But I know where to start

They tell me I’m too young to understand
They say I’m caught up in a dream
Well life will pass me by if I don’t open up my eyes
Well that’s fine by me

[2x]
So wake me up when it’s all over
When I’m wiser and I’m older
All this time I was finding myself
And I didn’t know I was lost

I tried carrying the weight of the world
But I only have two hands
Hope I get the chance to travel the world
But I don’t have any plans

Wish that I could stay forever this young
Not afraid to close my eyes
Life’s a game made for everyone
And love is the prize

[2x]
So wake me up when it’s all over
When I’m wiser and I’m older
All this time I was finding myself
And I didn’t know I was lost

Didn’t know I was lost
I didn’t know I was lost
I didn’t know I was lost
I didn’t know (didn’t know, didn’t know)

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

