Society and Body Image

body“Skinny bitch.”

I’m sure she meant it as a joke, but I felt all my weight get sucked in. No one has ever called me that before, until I walked out of the bathroom in my beautiful new dress and got that remark from my roommate.

Happy “Tunes Tuesday” dear reader. You’d think I’d have a song to share with you this week knowing it’s summer, but I don’t. I’ve been thinking about a lot of things lately and this is one of them.

I am not skinny. I have been a competitive ballroom dancer all my life and was pushed to stay in shape. 4 hours of working out was required of me every day. In middle school, I was more developed than all the other girls. I got my period in 4th grade and it sucked. I had a bigger chest and curves than any other girl in my grade and I felt ugly. My mom told me that one day I would love them and feel blessed.

She was right, in high school, I felt gorgeous. Guys thought I was beautiful and I felt like Kim Kardashian.

But in college? No one consideres me curvy. They think I’m a “tiny girl” with a “tiny waist”.

“It’s like her body is disproportionate” my roommate laughed telling my suite-mates. “How can someone have such big boobs and a butt with a tiny little body and waist?” I wanted to slap her. I mean, I would call that a gift.

I confessed my hurt feelings to my gay friend Alex later that day, “Don’t worry Shaz. She’s just jealous that she won’t ever have a body as great as your’s. But she does have a point. You are tiny. Do you really eat three meals a day?” I was shocked. How could he ask such a thing?

I feel awful for teasing my gorgeous skinny friends in high school, they aren’t skinny! They are athletes who have strong bodies and work their butts off. They are perfectly normal, just like me. Just because I’m curvier than them, doesn’t make them skinny. And just because my roommate is bigger than me, doesn’t make me skinny.

I hated my roommate’s remarks. She even told me the way I should dress for my “shape”. I knew the way I should dress, I just didn’t want to flaunt around her like that because I knew she would eye my curves and make a comment about them. And when I wore looser clothes to cover them up, she’d tell me I looked like a grandma. It’s like I was stuck. Sadly, my roommate is not the only person who behaves like this today.

Our media portrays what “curvy” and “skinny” is and which one is better. Magazines are FILLED with covers like “How I got my body back!” and “You call this fat??”glamour mag

One of my favorite magazines, Glamour, did an amazing article on it. The attached picture of the two women was Glamour’s impressing article picture.They came up with the “Stop the Body Shaming” title. And I love it. I agree with their message.

I wanted to address this with you, dear reader. I was nervous until I talked about all of this in my Sociology 101 final…my professor gave me an A+ 🙂

xoxo. SassPrincess.

Don't be shy, let me know what you think! :)

